Main Banner
About Us
Fixtures & Results

Mid Clare Qualify for Semi Final
Tuesday, 3rd April 2007
Submitted by Administrator

A FIVE STAR performance from man of the match Aaron Considine propelled Mid Clare into the semi finals of the Munster under 16 championship when they accounted for West Limerick at Croagh on Friday evening.

The opposition had the benefit of a preliminary round game but after 20 minutes the Clare side were calling the shots following goals from Considine and Conor O’Donnell. The visitors defence was in determined fashion not to concede scores and West Limerick managed just first half scores.

However, it must be noted that Mid Clare - for all their forward industry - were still guilty of wayward shooting and a number of wides could and really should have been translated into goals.

A second half revival by the home side witnessed Mid Clare having to endure defensive insecurities for the third quarter of the game as West Limerick scored 2-2 to narrow the gap to four points. And briefly, it looked as if the Clare side might rue the missed chances. But fear of failure propelled the winners to tighten up their rearguard once again and scores from Mc- Guane, Considine, Niall Arthur and Ian Lyons stretched the Clare lead beyond the Limerick side’s reach. Over the hour the Gerry O’Connor and Donal Moloney managed side were the more consistent and should improve on this confident display. The loss of Pat O’Connor - due to college commitments - was a blowto the Clare attack. Worse still, a suspected hand injury obtained in the Gort college’s game on Saturday may rule the Tubber sharpshooter out of the Mid Clare attack for the upcoming semi final against East Clare.

Mid Clare Philip Walshe (Eire-Óg), Stephen Collins (St Joseph’sDoora-Barefield), Damian Hogan (Inagh), Killian Ryan (Ruan), Sean O’Connor (Newmarket), Colin McGuane (Kilmaley)(0-1), Brian Hehir (Inagh), David Liddy (Newmarket),Kieran Clune (St Joseph’s Doora- Barefield), Daire Keane (Kilmaley)(0-2), Eamonn Malone (Kilmaley), Eoin Hanrahan (Banner)(0- 1), Conor O’Donnell (Crusheen)(1-1), Aaron Considine (Clarecastle)(1-8), Shane O’Connor ( St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield)(0-3). Subs: Jason Greene (Crusheen), Niall Arthur (Inagh) (0-1), Ian Lyons (Doora-Barefield)(0-1), Graham Glynn (Eire-Óg).

About the Author - Administrator

Declan has been Administrator of since its inception on March 17th 2005. To contact him regarding the website or any other activities, please email

Browse Archived Articles by Administrator

«« Back

Read more articles like this ....

Copyright Sixmilebridge GAA 2005