Main Banner
About Us
Fixtures & Results

Minors record victory over Blues
Monday, 24th September 2012
Submitted by Minor Club PRO

Minor A Newmarket 0-10 Sixmilebridge 1-15

By Tom Sheehan (Bord na nOg PRO)

Sixmilebridge gained two more valuable points in their bid to reach the semi-final of this year’s competition with a hard fought win over Newmarket at Newmarket on Friday evening. The bridge who are looking to retain the Wille Chaplin cup and reach their 5th final in a row welcomed back Jamie Shannahan after injury. Shannahan lined out at full forward and with Conor Deasy on his right and Brian Carey at centre the bridge line-up made their intentions clear. The vital score of the first half came in the fourth minute when Conor Deasy finish easily to the net after the Newmarket gaolie Cathal Hayes deflected a harmless shot by Shane McInerney into his path. The sides traded points up to the break with Jamie Shannahan for the bridge & Shane Kelleher form Newmarket on target from 65,s. Midfielders John Mulready Bridge & James Warren Newmarket scoring some excellent points from play. It was 1-8 to 0-8 in favour of the bridge at half time.

The bridge re-arranged their team in the 2nd half with Carey going to centre back. Newmarket amazingly only scored two points in the second half with the bridge defence dominant. At the other end Conor Deasy & Shannahan were able to pick off points for the holders to win by 8 points. Ref Jim Hickey had his hand full at times with both sets of players so familiar with each other. This result ends Newmarket’s championship as they cannot now qualify the bridge have to beat Feakle/Killanena in their last game next weekend to ensure their passage to the semi-finals.

Sixmilebridge: Jason Loughanne, Darragh McNamara, Barry Fitzpatrick, Mark Quinn, Kevin Fennessy, Alex Morey, Dylan Fleming, Stephen Mulready, John Mulready (2p), Paul Finan, Brian Carey, David Murphy, Shane McInerney, Jamie Shannahan (0-8) (3,65 5f) Conor Deasy 1-5

Sun Eoin Flynn

Newmarket: Cathal Hayes, Gearoid McMahon, Shane Kelleher (3p) 3,65) Ronan McCarthy, Paudi Conway, James O’Brien, Evan Keogh, Darren Power, James Warren (1p) Eoin McCarthy, Darren Burke (1p) Óisin O’Connor, John Fehilly (1p) Ryan Corry (3p 3f) Glen Murray (1p)

Sub: Óisin Pender

Ref: Jim Hickey

About the Author - Minor Club PRO

Adrian returns to the role of PRO this year having served in every position in the club to date. He has been actively involved in ensuring the underage structures are in place to ensure a bright future for the club. Adrian has also worked with the County development squads and helps out with Camogie coaching. To contact Adrian regrading the website or any other PRO activities, please email Minor Club PRO

Browse Archived Articles by Minor Club PRO

«« Back

Read more articles like this ....

Copyright Sixmilebridge GAA 2005