Founded 1904

Co. Clare

U21 C Team bow out of Championship after brave effort against Tubber

Download our mobile app to hear more about Sixmilebridge.

See More

U21 C Team bow out of Championship after brave effort against Tubber

Sixmilebridge 0-16

Tubber 1-14

Referee - Aaron Hogg

Venue - O' Garney Park

Date - Sat 28th October 2023

Our U21 Cs went into their Round 2 championship game against Tubber on Saturday last needing a win to progress in the championship. Tubber were fielding an U21 team on their own for the first time in many years, which for a small club is great news that they have the numbers. They have amalgamated with Crusheen at the higher level of U21A at this level in recent years.

Tubber started very well and led 0-11 to 0-7 at half time, the 'Bridge probably lucky to only be 4 points down. Scores in the 1st half came from Fionn Hayes, Daniel Chaplin and Cian Gleeson.

The second half saw the 'Bridge come out and really put in a performance. Approaching the 62nd minute the 'Bridge held a 2 point lead, Tubber only managing 2 scores in the 2nd half to this point, but the next score proved crucial, a goal for Tubber, against the run of play it must be said but to be fair they Tubber never gave up. The goal gave Tubber a one point advantage in injury time and although Fionn Hayes managed to level the game with a point, a further final pointed score from Tubber gave them the win.

In the end a great 2nd half performance from the 'Bridge saw them fall just short of the win and probably regretting the slow start in the 1st half. Scores in the 2nd half came from Gavin McMahon, Cian Gleeson, Calum Phelan, Ferdia O' Lionnain and Fionn Hayes.

Best for the 'Bridge on the day were Fionn Hayes, Gary O' Callaghan, Cian Gleeson and also good performances from the younger lads straight out of minor, Mark Sheedy, Harry Chaplin, Calum Phelan and Don Whitty.

Sixmilebridge Team

Mark Sheedy, Dara Twoomey, Danny Dunne, Ian Collins, Harry Chaplin, Conor Gilligan, Ferdia O' Lionnain (0-1), Paddy Reilly, Gary O' Callaghan, Cian Gleeson (0-3), Calum Phelan (0-3), Daniel Chaplin (0-3, 2f), Jack Hughes, Fionn Hayes (0-5, 2f), Gavin Mcmahon (0-1)

Subs Used;

Morgan O' Connell, Brendan Carey, Don Whitty, Dara Casey also Will Gilligan & Daighre Clarke

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play